American Sociological Association

ASA Footnotes

A publication of the American Sociological AssociationASA News & Events
November/December 2017

Preview the 2018 ASA Election Candidates

The ASA announces the 2018 candidates for ASA Officers, Committee on Nominations, Committee on Publications, and Committee on Committees. Ballots for the 2018 ASA election will be sent in spring 2018.


David Williams, Harvard University

Christine Williams, University of Texas at Austin

Vice President-Elect

Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts–Amherst

Victor Rios, University of California–Santa Barbara


Ashley “Woody” Doane, University of Hartford

Nancy Lopez, University of New Mexico

Council Members-at-Large

Kelly Chong, University of Kansas

Pawan Dhingra, Tufts University

David Embrick, University of Connecticut

Derek Hyra, American University

Jose Itzigsohn, Brown University 

Wendy Leo Moore, Texas A&M University

Jennifer Reich, University of Colorado–Boulder

Sara Shostak, Brandeis University

Committee on Publications:

Syed Ali, Long Island University

Claudia Buchmann, Ohio State University

Philip Cohen, University of Maryland–College Park

Claire Decoteau, University of Illinois–Chicago

Belinda Robnett, University of California–Irvine

Kristen Schilt, University of Chicago

Committee on Committees


Susan Ferguson, Grinnell College

Cecilia Menjivar, University of Kansas

Mignon Moore, Barnard College

CJ Pascoe, University of Oregon

PhD Granting Institution           

Shannon Davis, George Mason University

Waverly Duck, University of Pittsburgh

Non-Academic Institution         

Terceira Berdahl, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Lynda Laughlin, U.S. Census Bureau

For more information, visit Additional candidates may be added via petition. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, and Secretary must be signed by at least 100 voting eligible ASA members; additional candidates for other positions must be signed by at least 50 voting eligible members. All petitions must be submitted by January 31, 2018. Regular, student, retired, and life members are eligible to vote in all ASA-wide elections and in the elections for the sections in which they have membership. Associate members are eligible to vote only for their section elections. Membership must be active as of March 31, 2018. to receive a ballot.. If you have any questions regarding the election, email