American Sociological Association

ASA Footnotes

A publication of the American Sociological AssociationASA News & Events

June-August 2018

2018 ASA Election Results

Christine Williams

Christine Williams

ASA is pleased to announce the results of the 2018 ASA election. Thank you to all the candidates who generously volunteered their service, and congratulations to the new members of our leadership team.

Christine Williams, University of Texas-Austin, has been elected the 111th President of the American Sociological Association. Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, has been elected Vice President and Nancy López, University of New Mexico, was elected Secretary.

Joya Misra

Joya Misra

Professors Williams and Misra will assume their respective offices in August 2019, following a year of service as President-elect and Vice President-elect (2018-2019). Williams will chair the 2020 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program in San Francisco, August 8-11, 2020. Members also elected four new Council Members-at-Large: Kelly H. Chong (University of Kansas), Wendy Leo Moore (Texas A&M University), Jennifer Reich (University of Colorado Denver), and Sara Shostak (Brandeis University). Also elected were four members of the Committee on Committees, five members of the Committee on Nominations, and three members of the Committee on Publications

Nancy López

Nancy López

In announcing the results of the election, Secretary David Takeuchi and Executive Director Nancy Kidd extended their heartiest congratulations to the newly elected leaders and their appreciation to all ASA members who have served the Association by running for office and voting in this election.

For the full results, see


One-year term as President-Elect, one-year term as President, and one-year term as Past President: Christine Williams, University of Texas-Austin

Vice President-Elect

One-year term as Vice President-Elect, one-year term as Vice President, and one-year term as Past Vice President: Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts-Amherst


One-year term as Secretary-Elect, three-year term as Secretary: Nancy López, University of New Mexico

Council Members-at-Large

Three-year terms:

Kelly H. Chong, University of Kansas

Wendy Leo Moore, Texas A&M University

Jennifer Reich, University of Colorado Denver

Sara Shostak, Brandeis University

Committee on Committees

Two-year terms:

Shannon Davis, George Mason University

Lynda Laughlin, U.S. Census Bureau

Mignon Moore, Barnard College-Columbia University

CJ Pascoe, University of Oregon

Committee on Nominations

Two-year terms:

Patricia Fernandez-Kelly, Princeton University

Lorena Garcia, University of Illinois-Chicago

David S. Meyer, University of California-Irvine

Dina G. Okamoto, Indiana University

Karolyn Tyson, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Committee on Publications

Three-year terms:

Syed Ali, Long Island University-Brooklyn

Philip N. Cohen, University of Maryland-College Park

Kristen Schilt, University of Chicago

Student Forum

Graduate Student Members, Two-year terms:

Marie Plaisime, Howard University

Apoorva Ghosh, University of California-Irvine

Endia Hayes, Rutgers University

Saugher Nojan, University of California-Santa Cruz

Undergraduate Student Member, One-year term:

Elena van Stee, Calvin College

Opportunities in Retirement Network 

Two-year terms:

Maxine Baca Zinn, Michigan State University

Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld, Arizona State University

Jeffrey E. Nash, Missouri State University

Proposed Amendments to Article V, Section 3 of the ASA Bylaws

The amendment proposal regarding the program committee composition was approved.

Proposed Amendments to the ASA Code of Ethics

The Code of Professional Ethics revision proposal was approved.