American Sociological Association Logo

section officers

Medical Files Image

ASA Medical Sociology Section Council 2013-14

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Anne Figert, Loyola University Chicago (afigert@luc.edu)
Chair-Elect: Kristin Barker, University of New Mexico (kbarker@unm.edu)
Past Chair: Susan E. Bell, Bowdoin College (sbell@bowdoin.edu)
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Karen Lutfey, University of Colorado Denver 2015 (Karen.lutfey@ucdenver.edu)

Section Council

Bridget Gorman, Rice University (2014-2016) (bkgorman@rice.edu)
Brea Louise Perry, University of Kentucky (2013-2015) (breaperry@uky.edu)
Tania Jenkins, Brown University (2014-2016) (student member) (chnlee68@gmail.com)
Mieke Beth Thomeer, University of Texas at Austin (2013-2015) (student member) (mbthomeer@utexas.edu)

Section Membership Committee

Chair: Laura Mamo, San Francisco State University (2014 (mam68@psu.edu)  

Section Nominations Committee

Chair: Sara Shostak, Brandeis University (sshostak@brandeis.edu)
Chair-Elect: Rachel Best, University of Michigan (rkb@umich.edu)
Sarah Burgard, University of Michigan (burgards@umich.edu)
Catherine Bliss, University of California-San Francisco (Catherine.Bliss@ucsf.edu)
Jane VanHeuvelen, Indiana University (student member) (jdschlap@indiana.edu)

Section Publications Committee

Chair: Kathy Charmaz, Sonoma State University 2015 (charmaz@sonoma.edu)

Section Teaching Committee

Chair: Jennifer A. Reich, University of Colorado-Denver 2015 (jreich@du.edu)

Health Policy & Research Committee

Chair: Sigrun Olafsdottir, Boston University (sigrun@bu.edu)

Section Career & Employment Committee

Chair: Patricia P. Rieker, Boston University (2013-2015) (rieker@bu.edu)

Med Soc website (non-ASA) Officers for 2013-2014

Section Officers:

Anne Figert
Chair (Chair 2014-2015; Past Chair 2015-2016)
Department of Sociology
Loyola University-Chicago
1032 W. Sheridan Road
Coffey Hall 421
Chicago, Illinois 60660
Tel: (773) 508 – 3431
afigert@luc.edu

Kristin Barker
Chair Elect (2014-2015; Chair 2015-2016; Past Chair 2016-2017)
Department of Sociology & Criminology
University of New Mexico, MSC05 3080
Social Sciences Building, Room 1103
1915 Roma NE Ste. 1103
Albuquerque, NM 87131*001
505 277-2501
kbarker@unm.edu

Susan Bell
Past Chair (2014-2015)
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
315 Adams Hall
Bowdoin College, 7000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011-8470
Tel: (207) 725-3292
sbell@bowdoin.edu

Karen Lutfey
Secretary-Treasurer Elect (2012-2013; Secretary-Treasurer 2013-2014)
Department of Health & Behavioral Sciences
University of Colorado Denver Campus Box 188
PO Box 173364
Denver CO 80217-3364
USA
Phone: (303) 556-4301
karen.lutfey@ucdenver.edu

Janet Shim
Secretary-Treasurer Elect (Secretary-Treasurer-Elect 2014-15; Secretary.-Treasurer 2015-17)
University of California, San Francisco, Box 0612
3333 California Street, Suite 455
San Francisco, CA 94143-0612
Tel:  (415) 514-9392
Janet.Shim@ucsf.edu

Section Council

Bridget Gorman
Council Member-at-Large (2014-2016)
Rice University
Department of Sociology, MS-28
6100 Main St.
Houston TX 77005-1892
Tel: (713) 348-4137
bkgorman@rice.edu

Brea Perry
Council Member-at-Large (2013-2015)
Department of Sociology
Ballantine Hall 744
1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405
Tel: (812) 856-0447
blperry@indiana.edu

Tania Jenkins
Student Council Representative (2014-16)
PhD Candidate
Department of Sociology
Brown University
Maxcy Hall, Box 1916,
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: (401) 528-7201
tania_jenkins@brown.edu

Mieke Beth Thomeer
Student Council Member-at-Large (2013-2015)
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Department of Sociology
HHB 460
1720 2nd Ave. South
Birmingham AL 35294-1152
Tel: (512) 636-9042
mthomeer@uab.edu

Section Membership Committee

Laura Mamo
Chair, Membership Committee (2014-2016)
Health Equity Institute
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave, HSS 358A
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-6209
lmamo@sfsu.edu

Section Nominations Committee

Sara Shostak
Nominations Committee Chair (2014-2015)
Brandeis University
Department of Sociology, MS 071
Waltham, MA 02454
Tel: (781) 736-2213
sshostak@brandeis.edu

Rachel Best
Nominations Committee Chair-Elect (2014-15)
University of Michigan
Room 3001 LSA Building
500 S State St
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1382
Tel: (734) 763-1220
rkb@umich.edu

Sarah Burgard
Nominations Committee Member (2014-15)
University of Michigan
Departments of Sociology and Epidemiology
500 South State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1382
Phone: (734) 615-9538
burgards@umich.edu

Catherine Bliss
Nominations Committee Member (2014-15)
University of California-San Francisco
Social Behavioral Sciences
3333 California Street Room 455
San Francisco CA 94118
Tel: 415-502-2601
Catherine.Bliss@ucsf.edu

Jane VanHeuvelen
Nominations Committee Member—Student Member (2014-15)
Department of Sociology
Ballantine Hall 744
1020 East Kirkwood Ave.
Bloominton, IN 47405
Tel: (812) 855-4127
jdschlap@indiana.edu

Section Publications Committee

Kathy Charmaz
Chair, Publications Committee (2013-2015)
Sociology Department
Sonoma State University
1801 E. Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Tel: (707) 664-3955
charmaz@sonoma.edu

Section Teaching Committee

Jennifer A. Reich
Chair, Teaching Committee (2013-2015)
Department of Sociology
University of Colorado Denver
Campus Box 105, PO Box 173364
Denver, CO 80217-3364
Tel: (303) 315.2135
Jennifer.reich@ucdenver.edu

Health Policy & Research Committee

Sigrun Olafsdottir
Health Policy & Research Committee Chair (2014-16)
Department of Sociology
Boston University
96-100 Cummington St.
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: (617) 358-0636
sigrun@bu.edu

Section Career & Employment Committee

Patricia P. Rieker
Chair, Career and Employment Committee (2013-2015)
Boston University
Department of Sociology
96-100 Cummington St.
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: (617) 358-0640
rieker@bu.edu

Newsletter Editor

Ann Bell
Newsletter Co-Editor (2014-           )
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology & Criminal Justice
University of Delaware
18 Amstel
Newark, DE  19716
302-831-8231
avbell@udel.edu

Barret Michalec
Newsletter Co-Editor (2014-                )
Department of Sociology & Criminal Justice
University of Delaware
Smith Hall, 18 Amstel Ave
Tel: (302) 831-1205
Email: bmichal@udel.edu


Gilbert Gee
Editor, Journal of Health & Social Behavior
Department of Community Health Sciences
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
650 Charles E. Young Drive South
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: (310) 825-8838
gilgee@ucla.edu

Web Team

Simon Geletta
Webmaster (2014-             )
Des Moines University
3200 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50312
Tel: 515-271-1366
E-mail: simon.geletta@dmu.edu

John Girdwood
Associate Webmaster (2014-           )
Michigan State University
Tel: (774) 473-9663
6419 Beecher Rd., Flint MI 48532
girdwoo1@msu.edu

Natalie Ingraham
Associate Webmaster (2014-           )
University of California, San Francisco
Tel: 405-833-3075
Natalie.Ingraham@ucsf.edu

Book Raffle

Danielle Bessett
Chair, Book Raffle (2014- )
Department of Sociology
1022 Crosley Tower
University of Cincinnati
PO Box 210378
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0378
Tel: 513.556.4717
danielle.bessett@uc.edu