American Sociological Association Logo

section officers

Medical Files Image

ASA Medical Sociology Section Council 2013-14

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair: Susan E. Bell, Bowdoin College (sbell@bowdoin.edu)
Chair-Elect: Anne Figert, Loyola University Chicago (afigert@luc.edu)
Past Chair: Allan V. Horwitz, Rutgers University (ahorwitz@ifh.rutgers.edu)
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Karen Lutfey, University of Colorado Denver 2015 (Karen.lutfey@ucdenver.edu)

Section Council

Dawne M. Mouzon, Rutgers University 2014 (dawne.mouzon@rutgers.edu)
Bridget K. Gorman, Rice University 2016
Brea Louise Perry, University of Kentucky 2015 (breaperry@uky.edu)
Chioun Lee, Princeton University 2014 (student member) (chnlee68@gmail.com)
Mieke Beth Thomeer, University of Texas at Austin 2015 (student member) (mbthomeer@utexas.edu)

Section Membership Committee

Chair: Molly A. Martin, Pennsylvania State University 2014 (mam68@psu.edu)  

Section Nominations Committee

Chair: Rene Almeling, Yale University (rene.almeling@yale.edu)
Chair-Elect: Sara N. Shostak, Brandeis University (sshostak@brandeis.edu)
Miranda R. Waggoner, Princeton University 2014 (waggoner@princeton.edu)
Joanna Kempner, Rutgers University 2014 (jkempner@rci.rutgers.edu)
Meredith R. Bergey, Brandeis University 2014 (student member) (bergey@brandeis.edu)

Section Publications Committee

Chair: Kathy Charmaz, Sonoma State University 2015 (charmaz@sonoma.edu)

Section Teaching Committee

Chair: Jennifer A. Reich, University of Denver 2015 (jreich@du.edu)

Health Policy & Research Committee

Chair: Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld, Arizona State University 2014 (jennie.kronenfeld@asu.edu)

Section Career & Employment Committee

Chair: Patricia P. Rieker, Boston University 2015 (rieker@bu.edu)

Med Soc website (non-ASA) Officers for 2013-2014

Section Officers:

Susan E. Bell
Chair (Chair 2013-2014; Past Chair 2014-2015)
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
315 Adams Hall
Bowdoin College, 7000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011-8470
Phone: (207) 725-3292
sbell@bowdoin.edu

Anne Figert
Incoming Chair (Chair Elect 2013-2014; Chair
2014-2015; Past Chair 2015-2016)
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
Loyola University-Chicago
1032 W. Sheridan Road
Coffey Hall 421
Chicago, Illinois 60660
Tel: (773) 508 – 3431
afigert@luc.edu

Allan Horwitz
Immediate Past Chair (2013-2014)
Rutgers University
Department of Sociology
Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
112 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (848) 932-8378
ahorwitz@ifh.rutgers.edu

Karen Lutfey
Secretary-Treasurer Elect (2012-2013; Secretary-Treasurer 2013-2014)
Department of Health & Behavioral Sciences
University of Colorado Denver Campus Box 188
PO Box 173364
Denver CO 80217-3364
USA
Phone: (303) 556-4301
karen.lutfey@ucdenver.edu

Section Council

Dawne Mouzon Council Member-at-Large (2012-2014)
Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
Rutgers University
33 Livingston Avenue, Room 546
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: (732) 932-5475 x880
dawne.mouzon@rutgers.edu

Bridget Gorman
Council Member-at-Large (2014-2016)
Professor
Rice University
Department of Sociology, MS-28
6100 Main St.
Houston TX 77005-1892
Tel: (713) 348-4137
bkgorman@rice.edu

Brea Perry
Council Member-at-Large (2013-2015)
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
University of Kentucky
527 Patterson Office Tower
Lexington, KY 40506
Tel: (859) 257-4416
breaperry@uky.edu

Chioun Lee
Student Council Representative-at-Large (2012-2014)
Rutgers University
Department of Sociology/Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research
112 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 8901
Phone: (848) 932-5894
chnlee68@gmail.com

Mieke Beth Thomeer
Student Council Representative-at-Large (2013-2015)
University of Texas at Austin
Department of Sociology
110 Inner Campus Drive Stop G1800
Austin, TX 78712
Tel: (512) 232-1711
mbthomeer@utexas.edu

Section Membership Committee

Molly A. Martin
Chair, Membership Committee (2012-2014)
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Sociology
414 Oswald Tower
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 863-5508
mam68@psu.edu

Section Nominations Committee

Rene Almeling
Chair, Nominations Committee (2013-2014)
Sociology Department
493 College St., Room 309
Yale University
PO Box 208265
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: (203) 432-3340
rene.almeling@yale.edu

Sara Shostak
Incoming Nominations Committee Chair (Chair Elect 2013-2014; Chair 2014-2015)
Associate Professor
Brandeis University
Department of Sociology, MS 071
Waltham, MA 02454
Tel: (781) 736-2213
sshostak@brandeis.edu

Miranda Waggoner
Nominations Committee Member (2013-2014)
NIH Postdoctoral Fellow
Princeton University
228 Wallace Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544
Tel: (609) 258-5514
waggoner@princeton.edu

Joanna Kempner
Nominations Committee Member (2013-2014)
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
Rutgers University
26 Nichol Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Tel: (215) 681-1051
jkempner@rci.rutgers.edu

Meredith Bergey
Nominations Committee, Student Member (2013- 2014)
Brandeis University
Department of Sociology
MS 071
Waltham, MA 02454-9110
Tel: (401) 575-1249
bergey@brandeis.edu

Section Publications Committee

Kathy Charmaz
Chair, Publications Committee (2013-2015)
Director, Faculty Writing Program
Professor of Sociology
Sociology Department
Sonoma State University
1801 E. Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Tel: (707) 664-3955
charmaz@sonoma.edu

Section Teaching Committee

Jennifer A. Reich
Chair, Teaching Committee (2013-2015)
Department of Sociology and Criminology
University of Denver
2000 E. Asbury Avenue, Sturm 446
Denver CO 80208
Tel: (303) 871-2066
jreich@du.edu

Health Policy & Research Committee

Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld
Chair, Health Policy and Research Committee (2012-2014)
School of Social and Family Dynamics
Box 873701
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 408-965-8053
jennie.kronenfeld@asu.edu

Section Career & Employment Committee

Patricia P. Rieker
Chair, Career and Employment Committee (2013-2015)
Adjunct Professor of Sociology
Boston University
Department of Sociology
96-100 Cummington St.
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: (617) 358-0640
rieker@bu.edu

Newsletter Editor

Sarah Burgard
Newsletter Editor (-2014)
University of Michigan
Departments of Sociology and Epidemiology
500 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1382
Phone: (734) 615-9538
burgards@umich.edu

Book Raffle

Susan E. Stockdale
Chair, Book Raffle
HSR&D Center of Excellence
VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System (152)
16111 Plummer Street
Building 25 Room A-103
Sepulveda, CA 91343
Phone: (818) 891-7711 x2381
Susan.stockdale@va.gov