American Sociological Association Logo


Medical Files Image

2015 Reeder Award
Award MedalThe Medical Sociology Section invites nominations for the 2015 Leo G. Reeder Award to be awarded at the annual meeting of the Medical Sociology Section in Chicago. This award is given annually for Distinguished Contribution to Medical Sociology. This award recognizes scholarly contributions, especially a body of work displaying an extended trajectory of productivity that has contributed to theory and research in medical sociology. The Reeder Award also acknowledges teaching, mentoring, and training as well as service to the medical sociology community broadly defined. Please submit letter of nomination, at least two other suggestions for nominators, and the nominee’s curriculum vitae to Anne Figert ( with the subject line: 2015 Reeder Award Nomination. Nominations are due by May 31, 2014. Note: If a person nominated for the Reeder Award is currently a member of the Medical Sociology Section Council, the nomination will be deferred until the person is no longer on the Council.

2014 Eliot Freidson Outstanding Publication Award
award medalThe Freidson Award is given in alternate years to a book or journal article published in the preceding two years that has had a major impact on the field of medical sociology.  The 2014 award will be given to a book published in either 2012 or 2013.  The book may deal with any topic in medical sociology, broadly defined. Self-nominations are permissible.  When making a nomination, please indicate (however briefly) the reason for the nomination.  Send nominations to Kathy Charmaz ( with the subject line:  2014 Freidson Award Nomination and mail a hardcopy of your nomination to her at the Department of Sociology, Sonoma State University,1801 E. Cotati Avenue, Rohnert Park, CA 94928. Nominations are due by February 15, 2014.

2014 Louise Johnson Scholar
award medalThe Medical Sociology Section will select a student member of the section to be the 2014 Louise Johnson Scholar. The Louise Johnson Scholar fund was established in memory of Louise Johnson, a pioneering medical sociologist whose mentorship and scholarship we are pleased to honor. The fund was made possible by Sam Bloom of Mount Sinai School of Medicine, a former colleague of Louise Johnson. The Scholar will receive travel funds up to $350 to present at the annual ASA meetings in Denver and attend section events. Selection will be based on academic merit and the quality of an accepted ASA paper related to medical sociology; papers with faculty co-authors are ineligible. To apply, please send: 1) a copy of your acceptance notification to present at the 2014 ASA meetings, 2) a copy of your paper, 3) your CV, and 4) a letter of recommendation from a professor who can write about your academic merit. Submissions should be sent via email, as Word documents or PDFs, to Dawne Mouzon ( with the subject line: 2014 Louise Johnson Scholar Nomination. Applications are due by May 15, 2014

2014 Simmons Award
award medalNominations are being accepted for the 2014 Roberta G. Simmons Outstanding Dissertation in Medical Sociology Award.  The award is given each year by the Medical Sociology section. The awardee will receive a $750 travel grant to attend the ASA meetings and an award certificate, and will attend the Reeder dinner as a guest of the Medical Sociology section.  Self-nominations are acceptable.  Eligible candidates must have defended their doctoral dissertations within two academic years prior to the annual meeting at which the award is made.  To be considered for the 2014 award, the candidate should submit an article-length paper (sole-authored), not to exceed 35 double-spaced pages (11- or 12-point font), inclusive of references.  This paper may have been previously published, or may be in press or under review.  A letter of recommendation from a faculty mentor familiar with the candidate’s work is also required.  Electronic submission of the paper (MS Word or PDF) is required.  The letter of recommendation should be sent directly by the recommender as an email attachment (MS Word or PDF).  Please send all materials to: Brea Perry  ( with the subject line:  2014 Simmons Award Nomination. Deadline for receipt of all submission materials is March 1, 2014.

2014 Howard B. Kaplan Memorial Award in Medical Sociology
award medalThis award is established to support graduate students doing research in one of the substantive areas that defined the distinguished academic career of  Dr. Howard B. Kaplan, namely mental health, self concept and health, or deviance, by providing funds up to the amount of $500 to contribute to expenses associated with attending the annual meeting of the American Sociological Association (ASA). The award recipient will be invited to attend the Reeder dinner as a guest of the Medical Sociology section. Self-nominations are acceptable. To be considered for the 2014 award, the candidate should submit a CV and letter of nomination to Dawne Mouzon ( with the subject line: 2014 Kaplan Award Nomination. Deadline for receipt of all submission materials is March 29, 2014.