American Sociological Association

Section on Sociology of Sexualities

What is the Section on Sexualities?

In the last decade or so, the study of sexuality has emerged as a vibrant interdisciplinary field of social analysis. For many years, sexuality was approached as an individual, biological or psychological phenomena. Today, the idea of sexuality as a social fact or construction is the point of departure for much of the most exciting scholarship in the area...

Sections are an important mechanism for getting out information about our specialty area... Section status also affords a variety of institutional supports from the ASA, including funding for information dissemination and a guaranteed number of paper sessions at the annual conference.

In short, we believe it is in the best interests of the discipline of sociology to advance the sociological study of sexuality. One way to promote this goal is to support the "Sociology of Sexualities" as an ASA section and to encourage you to join when you renew your membership in the ASA.

(Text written by Steve Seidman, Gil Zicklin, and Mark Hager)

Purpose Statement

The purpose of the Section on the Sociology of Sexualities is to encourage, enhance and foster research, teaching and other professional activities in the sociology of sexuality, for the development of sociology and the benefit of society, through organized meetings, conferences, newletters, publications, awards, and other means deemed appropriate by the Section Council. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration, and consultation among scholars in sociology, the sociology of sexualities, and allied disciplines.

Current Leadership (2015-2016)

Chair: Lorena Garcia
Chair-Elect: Dawn Michelle Baunach
Past Chair: Hector Carillo

Secretary-Treasurer: Catherine Connell (2013-2016)

Council Members:

  • Kimberly Kay Hoang (3rd year)
  • Melanie Heath (3rd year)
  • Tey Meadow (2nd year)
  • Eric Anthony Grollman (2nd year)
  • Rebecca Plante (1st year)
  • Bernadette Barton (1st year)

Student Representatives:

  • Clare Forstie
  • Amanda Steward

Newsletter Editor: Bethany Coston
Website Editor: Trevor Hoppe

Click Here for a Cumulative List of Former Sexualities Section Leadership

Section By-Laws

Click here for a current version of the section bylaws.