Communication and Information Technologies Section Logo
Communication and Information Technologies Section

Past Award Recipients

CITASA William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award

2013 - Judy Wajcman, The London School of Economics and Political Science

2012 - Ron Anderson, Professor Emeritus, University of Minnesota

2011 - James E. Katz, Rutgers University

2010 - John Robinson, University of Maryland

2009 - Elihu Katz, Annenberg School of Communication and the Hebrew University

2008 - William Sims Bainbridge, National Science Foundation

2007 - David Lyon, Queen's University

2006 - Manuel Castells, University of Southern California

2004 - Barry Wellman, University of Toronto

2003 - Caroline Hodges Persell, New York University

CITASA Public Sociology Award

2013 - Shelia R. Cotten, University of Alabama, Birmingham

2012 - Lisa Wade and Gwen Sharp for their work creating and maintaining the Sociological Images blog.

2011 - Lee Rainie, Pew Research Center

2010 - danah boyd, Microsoft Research and Berkman Center

2009 - Peter Kollock, University of California at Los Angeles

2008 - Michael Macy, Cornell University

2007 - Keith Hampton, University of Pennsylvania

2006 - Marc Smith, Microsoft Research

2005 - Stephen P. Borgatti, Boston College

2004 - Earl Babbie, Chapman University

2002 - Robert Wood, Rutgers University

Prior to 2008 this award was for teaching or the design of a computer application.

CITASA Book Award

2013 Gina Neff, University of Washington, Venture Labor
Yuri Takhteyev, University of Toronto, Coding Places

2012 - Leah Lievrouw, UCLA, Alternative and Activist New Media (Polity, 2011)

2011 - Pablo Boczkowski, Northwestern University, News at Work: Imitation in an Age of Information Abundance (University of Chicago Press, 2010).

2010 - Guobin Yang, Barnard College, Columbia University, The Power of the Internet in China Citizen Activism Online (Columbia University Press, 2009).

2009 - Tarleton Gillespie, Cornell University, Wired Shut: Copyright and the Shape of Digital Culture. (MIT Press, 2007)

2008 - Yochai Benkler, Harvard University, The Wealth Of Networks: How Social Production Tranforms Markets and Freedom (2006, Yale University Press)

2008 - Fred Turner, Stanford University (Special Mention), From Counterculture to Cyberculture. (2006) Chicago University Press

2007 - Andrew Chadwick, University of London, Internet Politics (2006)

2006 - Philip Howard, University of Washington, New Media Campaigns and the Managed Citizen (2006)

2005 - Paul Starr, Princeton University, The Creation of the Media (2004)

CITASA Paper Award

2013 Shelley Boulianne, MacEwan University, "Stimulating or Reinforcing Political Interest: Using Panel Data to Examine Reciprocal Effects Between News Media and Political Interest."

2012 - Robert Ackland and Mathieu O'Neil. 2011. "Online collective identity: The case of the environmental movement." Social Networks, 33(3): 177-190.

2011 - Hampton, Keith N., Univeristy of Pennsyvlania, Oren Livio, University of Pennsylvania, and Lauren Sessions Goulet, University of Pennsylvania. "The Social Life of Wireless Urban Spaces: Internet Use, Social Networks, and the Public Realm," Journal of Communication 60: 701-722. (2010)

2010 - James Evans, University of Chicago, "Electronic Journals and the Narrowing of Science and Scholarship," Science 321: 395-399. (2008)

2009 - Hargittai, E., Gallo, J. & Kane, M.Y. (2008). "Cross-Ideological Discussions among Conservative and Liberal Bloggers." Public Choice. 134(1-2):67-86.

2008 - Paul Leonardi, Northwestern University

2007 - Laura Robinson, University of Southern California

2006 - Fred Turner, Stanford University

2005 - Daniel Beunza, Unversitat Pompeu Fabra and David Stark, Columbia University

2005 - Siobhan O'Mahony, Harvard Business School

CITASA Student Paper/Application Award

2013 Jeffrey Lane, Princeton University, "Code Switching on the Digital Street"

2012 - Ya-Wen Lei - "Institutional-social Embeddedness of the Public Sphere: Media, Law, Networks, and the Heterogeneous Development of the Public Sphere in China"

2011 Award- Dmitry Epstein, Cornell University, "Who's Responsible for the Digital Divide? Public Perceptions and Policy Implications." co-authored with Erik Nisbet and Tarleton Gillespie. The Information Society 27(2), 92-104. (2011)

2011 Honorable Mention - Michael Conover, Indiana University,"Political Polarization on Twitter." Co-authored with Jacob Ratkiewicz, M. Francisco, Bruno Gonçalves, Sandro Flammini, and Fil Menczer. In the proceedings of ICWSM 2011.

2010 - Lauren F. Sessions, University of Pennsylvania, "How offline gatherings affect online commiunities: When virtual community members meetup"

2009 - Daniel A. Menchik and Xiaoli Tian, University of Chicago, "Putting Social Context into Text: The Semiotics of E-mail Interaction." American Journal of Sociology 114(2): 332-370. (2008).

2008 - Steven G. Hoffman, Northwestern University
2008 - Alison Powell, Concordia University

2007 - Lee Humphreys, University of Pennsylvania

2006 - Sara Nephew, Princeton University

2005 - Laura Robinson, UCLA (paper)

2005 - Sean Zehnder, Northwestern University (software)

2004 - Jeffrey Boase, University of Toronto

2003 - Tracy Kennedy and Kristine Klement, University of Toronto

2002 - Julian Dierkes, University of British Columbia

2001 -Eszter Hargittai, (1999). "Weaving the Western Web: Explaining Differences in Internet Connectivity Among OECD Countries." Telecommunications Policy, 23(10/11), 701-718.