American Sociological Association


The purpose of the Section on Theory is to foster the development of this aspect of sociology through the organized interchange of ideas, teaching experiences, research programs, and results.

Section Officers & Council


Chair-Elect: John R. Hall, University of California-Davis 2017
Past Chair: John W. Mohr, Univ of California, Santa Barbara 2017
Chair: Neil Gross, Colby College 2017
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Robert S. Jansen, University of Michigan 2017
Student Representative: Simeon J. Newman, University of Michigan 2018
Student Representative: Anne Marie Champagne, Yale University 2019

Section Council

Isaac Ariail Reed, University of Virginia 2017
Sarah Quinn, University of Washington 2018
Claudio Ezequiel Benzecry, Northwestern University 2018
Claire Laurier Decoteau, University of Illinois, Chicago 2017
Margaret Frye, Princeton University 2019
Hillary Angelo, University of California - Santa Cruz 2019

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline