American Sociological Association

Sociology of Culture

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Culture is to encourage development of this perspective through the organized interchange of ideas and research. The Section on Culture considers material products, ideas, and symbolic means and their relation to social behavior.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Ronald N. Jacobs, University at Albany 2018
Chair-Elect: Omar A. Lizardo, University of Notre Dame 2018
Past Chair: Jennifer C. Lena, Columbia University, Teachers College 2018
Chief Operating Officer: Ruth Braunstein, University of Connecticut 2020
Student Representative: Gemma Mangione, Columbia University Teachers College 2018
Student Representative: Ande Reisman, University of Washington 2019

Section Council

Aneesh Aneesh, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2019
Elizabeth A. Armstrong, University of Michigan 2019
Patricia A. Banks, Mount Holyoke 2020
Francesco Duina, Bates College 2018
Ming-Cheng M. Lo, University of California-Davis 2020
Terence Emmett McDonnell, University of Notre Dame 2018

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership