American Sociological Association

Section on Community and Urban Sociology

CALL FOR AWARDS

The call for ASA Awards for the Helen and Robert Lynd Awards for Lifetime Achievement, the Robert Park Award for Best Book, Jane Addams Award for Best Article, and Best Graduate Student Paper has been circulated to CUSS membership through the regular ASA listserve.  Information about the individual awards is shown below.

 

The Robert and Helen Lynd Career - Lifetime Achievement Award 

The Robert and Helen Lynd Award recognizes distinguished career achievement in community and urban sociology. Nominators should send all committee members an email letter stating the case for the nominee winning the award and attaching a copy of the nominee's vitae. Please send nominations to all Award Committee members by April 2, 2018. 

Chair: Jan Lin, Occidental College (jlin@oxy.edu)

Committee: 
Prentiss Dantzler, Colorado College (pdantzler@coloradocollege.edu)

Sharon Zukin, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center, CUNY (Zukin@brooklyn.cuny.edu)

 

The Robert E. Park Award for Best Book 

The Park Award goes to the author(s) of the best book published in the past two years. Nominations are now being sought for books that appeared in 2016 or 2017. Nominations should include standard bibliographic information about the work, a brief comment on its merits, and copies of the book.   Please submit all nominations and required materials to the committee members by April 2, 2018.  Please send a short statement of nomination and a copy of the book to EACH committee member.  

Chair:
 
Forrest Stuart 
Dept. of Sociology
University of Chicago
1126 E. 59th St.
Chicago, IL 60637
 
email: forreststuart@uchicago.edu
 
Committee: 

Hillary Angelo 
c/o Siera Dissmore
Institute for Public Knowledge, New York University 
20 Cooper Square, 5th floor
New York, NY 10003
 
Greggor Mattson 
Dept. of Sociology
Oberlin College 
10 N. Professor St. King 305
Oberlin, OH 44074
 
Brian McCabe 
Dept. of Sociology 
Georgetown University
3520 Prospect St., NW - Suite 209
Washington, DC 20007
 
Xuefei Ren 
5742 S. Kenwood Ave, 1
Chicago, IL 60637

 

The Jane Addams Award for Best Article 

The Jane Addams Award (formerly the Park Article Award) goes to author(s) of the best scholarly article in community and urban sociology published in the past two years. Nominations are now being sought for articles that appeared in 2016 or 2017. Nominations should include standard bibliographic information about the work and a brief comment on its merits. To facilitate distributing articles for committee review, we are also requesting electronic submission of articles when possible. Please send article nominations along with a short statement of nominations to all committee members by April 2, 2018. 

 

Chair:  Ryan Centner,  London School of Economics (R.O.Centner@lse.ac.uk)

Committee:

Judy Halasz, SUNY at New Paltz (halaszj@newpaltz.edu)

Max Holleran, University of Melbourne (max.holleran@unimelb.edu.au)

Junia Howell, University of Pittsburgh (juniahowell@pitt.edu)

Richard Ocejo, John Jay College and the Graduate Center, CUNY (rocejo@jjay.cuny.edu)

 

CUSS Student Paper Award 

The CUSS Student Paper Award goes to the student author of the paper the award committee regards as the best graduate student paper in community and urban sociology. The competition is open to both published and unpublished article-length papers (roughly 25 pages in length without tables or references) written by a graduate student in the last two years (2016 or 2017). The committee will accept sole-authored and multiple-authored papers as long as the applicant is the lead or senior author. No student-faculty collaborations can be accepted. The Committee will select the paper that demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent or innovative analysis of a theoretical or empirical issue that is germane to the Section’s main interests. Please send all papers electronically to all committee members as well as a short statement of nomination by April, 2, 2018. 

 

Chair: Zaire Dinzey-Flores, Rutgers University (zdinzey@lcs.rutgers.edu)

Committee: 
Jerome Hodos, Franklin & Marshall University (jerome.hodos@fandm.edu)

Jacob Lederman, University of Michigan, Flint (jaclede@umflint.edu)

Brandi Thompson Summers, Virginia Commonwealth University (btsummers@vcu.edu)