American Sociological Association

Section on Community and Urban Sociology


The call for ASA Awards for the Helen and Robert Lynd Awards for Lifetime Achievement, the Robert Park Award for Best Book, Jane Addams Award for Best Article, and Best Graduate Student Paper has been circulated to CUSS membership through the regular ASA listserve.  Information about the individual awards is shown below.

All award nominations are due April 2 and should be submitted to the chair of the award committee.


Robert E. Park Book Award

Maria Krysan (, Chair, University of Illinois, Chicago

Waverly Duck (, University of Pittsburgh

Peter Rosenblatt (prosenblatt@luc.eduLoyola University Chicago

Mary Pattillo (, Northwestern University

Matthew Hall (, University of Washington


Jane Addams Article Award

Jeffrey Timberlake (, Chair, University of Cincinnati

Hillary Angelo (, UC Santa Cruz

Ariela Schachter (, Washington University in St. Louis


Graduate Student Paper Award

Robin Bartram (, Chair, Tulane University

Emily Yen (, Trinity College

Josh Pacewicz (pacewicz@brown.eduBrown University


Robin and Helen Lynd Award for Lifetime Achievement

Kyle Crowder (, Chair, University of Washington

Katherine Curtis (, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Angelina Grigoryeva ( of Toronto