American Sociological Association

Section on Asia and Asian America

Call for Nominations 2018 A&AA Awards

Call for Nominations 2018 A&AA Awards

Nominations (including self-nominations) are now being accepted for the 2018 Asia and Asian America awards. The deadline for the book awards is January 31, 2018, and the deadline for the paper and contribution awards is March 31, 2018. The winners will be announced in June on the section listserv, and the award ceremony will occur at the annual meeting in August. The awards and nomination procedures are described below.

 

(1) Book Award on Asian America

The Asia and Asian American section invites nomination letters and materials for the most outstanding book (edited books are excluded) on Asian America published during 2016 or 2017. Nomination letters (or self-nominations) are required and should be no more than 2 pages stating the significance and innovations of the book. The book award nominations deadline is January 31, 2018. Please send an electronic copy of the nomination materials to each award committee co-chair. In addition, please send, or request that the publisher send, a copy of the book to each award committee co-chair:

Bandana Purkayastha (Chair) bandana.purkayastha@uconn.edu 218-Manchester Hall, Department of Sociology, University of Connecticut, Storrs. CT 06269-1068. USA.
Minjeong Kim mkim@mail.sdsu.edu Department of Sociology, San Diego State University, 5500 Campanile Drive, San Diego, CA 92182-4423
Leland Saito lsaito@usc.edu, Department of Sociology, University of Southern California, 851 Downey Way, HSH 314, Los Angeles, CA 90089

(2) Book Award on Asia/Transnational

The Asia and Asian American section invites nomination letters and materials for the most outstanding book (edited books are excluded) on Asia/Transnational published during 2016 or 2017. Nomination letters (or self-nominations) are required and should be no more than 2 pages stating the significance and innovations of the book. The book award nominations deadline is January 31, 2018. Please send an electronic copy of the nomination materials to each award committee co-chair. In addition, please send, or request that the publisher send, a copy of the book to each award committee member:

Feng Wang (Chair) fwang@uci.edu  Department of Sociology, SSPB 4285, University of California, Irvine, CA 92697-5100.
Hung Thai Hung.Thai@pomona.edu Sociology department, Pomona College, 420 N. Harvard Ave, Claremont, CA. 91711.
Victoria Reyes vreyes@ucr.edu 1204 Watkins Hall, Department of Sociology, University of California, Riverside, Riverside, CA 92521

(3) Research Paper Award

The Asia and Asian American section invites nomination letters and materials for the most outstanding paper on Asia/Transnational and/or Asian America published during 2016 or 2017. Nomination letters (or self-nominations) are required and should be no more than 2 pages stating the significance and innovations of the paper. The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2018. Please send an electronic copy of the paper along with nomination letter(s) to each award committee member:

Paul Chang (Chair) paulchang@fas.harvard.edu
Manashi Ray mray3@wvstateu.edu
Jennifer Catherine Lee lee484@indiana.edu

4) Graduate Student Paper Award

The section will award a prize to the best graduate student paper addressing any topic in the sociology of either Asia/Transnational or Asian America. The winner(s) receive a cash prize of $300 at the annual meeting, divided equally first between co-winning papers, if any, and second between co-authors, if any. Entries should be double spaced with 12 point font and not exceed 35 pages in length (including all references, tables, and figures). Papers may be published or unpublished, but published papers must have a publication year of 2016 or later. Papers may be co-authored, but the lead author must be a student or must have been a student at the time of its first submission to a journal or anthology editor. Papers may be submitted by students or by professors on behalf of their students. The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2018. Please send an electronic copy of the paper along with nomination letter(s) to each award committee member.

Karen Pyke (Chair) karendp@ucr.edu
Kelly H. Chong kchong@ku.edu
Joel Andreas jandreas@jhu.edu

(5) Contribution to the Field Award

Nominations (including self-nominations) are invited for the Section’s Contribution to the Field Award. This award is meant to recognize those professors who have worked to build up the fields of Asian and/or Asian American Studies within their universities/colleges and the discipline at large, such as through critically engaged pedagogy, curriculum building, institution building, grassroots organizing, mentoring, and scholarly contributions. Nominees’ contributions may be local, regional, national, or international. Supporting documents, including vita, letters of support, teaching evaluations, etc. are encouraged. The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2018. Please send an electronic copy of the nomination materials to each award committee co-chair:

Grace Kao g.kao@yale.edu
Jiannbin Lee Shiao jshiao@uoregon.edu