American Sociological Association


The ASA Sociology of Law Section provides a forum for intellectual and personal exchange among sociologists interested in the study of law, legal institutions, and law-related structures and processes. The Section sponsors two sessions and a series of roundtables at the ASA annual meetings, and offers various awards, including a best student paper award every year. It further provides an e-mail list for any announcements of interest to sociologists of law and offers a mentor program for junior faculty.

Section Officers & Council


Chair-Elect: Rebecca L. Sandefur, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2017
Past Chair: Laura Beth Nielsen, American Bar Foundation/Northwestern University 2017
Chair: Elizabeth A. Hoffmann, Purdue University 2017
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Sida Liu, University of Toronto 2017

Section Council

Ruth Horowitz, New York University 2017
Mary E. Vogel, NYU (Visiting) and University of Manchester (Home) 2017
Ron Levi, University of Toronto 2018
Steven A. Boutcher, University of Massachusetts, Amherst 2017
Nate Ela, University of Wisconsin - Madison 2017
Lynette J Chua, National University of Singapore 2018

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline