American Sociological Association

Disability and Society

The Section aims to strengthen the theoretical and methodological aspects of Disability and Society Studies.

Section Officers & Council


Past Chair: Mark Sherry, University of Toledo 2017
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Diane S. Shinberg, Indiana University of Pennsylvania 2017
Chair: Sara E. Green, University of South Florida 2017
Section Award Committee Chair: Allison C. Carey, Shippensburg University 2017
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Richard K. Scotch, University of Texas at Dallas 2017
Chair-Elect: Heather E. Dillaway, Wayne State University 2017
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Brian R. Grossman, University of Illinois at Chicago 2019
Section Publicity Committee Chair: Robyn Lewis Brown, University of Kentucky 2018
Section Memb Cmte Chair: Kenzie Elizabeth Latham, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) 2018
Student Representative: Justine Egner, University of South Florida 2018

Section Council

Eva Kahana, Case Western Reserve Univ. 2018

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline