American Sociological Association

2017 Program Committee

The Program Committee for the Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below. In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, Secretary, Executive Officer, two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee, and six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council.

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and it is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the US and around the world.

Members of the Program Committee for the 2017 Annual Meeting

Michèle Lamont
President and
Committee Chair

Harvard University

 Sada Aksartova
United States
Government Accountability 
Office (GAO)

David Grusky 
Stanford University

David Harding 
University of California-Berkeley

Graziella Moraes Silva
Graduate Institute in Geneva - IHEID

Ann Morning
New York University

Kristen Schilt
University of Chicago

Yasmin Soysal
University of Essex

Anna Sun
Kenyon College

David Takeuchi 
Boston College

Kathleen Gerson
Vice President
New York University

Nancy Kidd
Executive Officer
American Sociological


Pearson 2017
University of McGill Department of Sociology 2017
Quebec Research Fund-Society and Culture
Federation for the Humanities
Concordia 2017
UMontreal 2017