Skip Navigation

Task Force on Social Media

Background and Charge

At its January 2013 meeting, the ASA Council voted to create a new Task Force on Using Social Media to Increase the Visibility of Sociological Research proposed by ASA

President-elect Annette Lareau. Council seeks ASA members to volunteer to participate on the Task Force which will consider specific ways to improve ASA’s use of existing (and new) social media tools and to develop approaches for the Association to assist sociologists expand their personal skills to promote their own sociological research.

The Task Force will be chaired by President-elect Lareau and staffed by the Executive Office. Members of the task force will be selected by Council.

Social Media. In response to a Social Media initiative proposed by President-elect Annette Lareau, Council agreed to appoint an Ad Hoc Committee on Social Media Policy Issues, create a Task Force on Using Media to Increase the Visibility of Sociological Research, and recommend ASA members for an ASA Webpage Advisory Group.

Task Force on Social Media Members

  • Ruha Bejamin, Boston University
  • Natalie Boero, San Jose State University
  • Tressie Cottom, Emory University
  • Jenny L. Davis, Texas A&M University
  • Jung-Wham Marc de Jong, SUNY FIT
  • Tina Fetner, McMaster University
  • Douglas Hartmann, University of Minnesota
  • Gabriel Bodin Hetland, University of California - Berkeley
  • Sally T. Hillsman, Executive Officer
  • Elaine Bell Kaplan, University of Souther California
  • Annette Lareau, University of Pennsylvania
  • James N. Maples, University of Tennessee
  • Besheer Mohamed, Pew Research Center
  • Sara M. Ovink, Virginia Tech University
  • Nathan Scott Palmer, Georgia Southern University
  • Felicia Wu Song, Westmont College
  • Andrea Hoplight Tapia, Pennsylvania State University
  • Berry Wellman, University of Toronto