American Sociological Association

Results of 2004 ASA Election

Results of 2004 ASA Election

Of the 10,858 eligible voters for the 2004 election, 3,174 members cast ballots in the election (29.23%).

Cynthia Fuchs Epstein, Graduate Center of the City University of New York

Vice President-Elect:
Lynn Smith-Lovin, Duke University

Council Members-At-Large:
Rebecca Adams, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Kathleen Blee, University of Pittsburgh
Ann Shola Orloff, Northwestern University
Bruce Western, Princeton University

Committee on Publications:
Daniel B. Cornfield, Vanderbilt University
Christine Bose, University at Albany

Committee on Nominations:
Scott Coltrane, University of California - Riverside
Susan Eckstein, Boston University
Irene Padavic, Florida State University
David Takeuchi, University of Washington - Seattle
Cheryl Townsend Gilkes, Colby College

Committee on Committees:
Patricia Yancey-Martin, Florida State University
Sharon Hays, University of Virginia
Hank Johnston, San Diego State University
Anna Karpathakis, City University of New York - Kingsborough

A member-initiated resolution opposing a constitutional amendment on same sex marriage was approved with 75% of voters in favor, 13% opposed, 8% abstained, and 4% did not mark any choice.

On the separate opinion poll asking "Do you personally favor or oppose legislation that bans same sex marriage?" 2,394 members voters indicated that they opposed such legislation (79%), 256 indicated that they favored such legislation (9%), and 260 abstained (8%), and 125 did not mark any selection (4%).


Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership