American Sociological Association

Task Force on Engaging Sociology

Background and Charge

At its January 2013 meeting, the ASA Council voted to create a new Task Force on Using Social Media to Increase the Visibility of Sociological Research, proposed by ASA President-elect Annette Lareau. Council sought ASA members to volunteer to participate on the Task Force which considered specific ways to improve ASA’s use of existing (and new) social media tools and to develop approaches for the Association to assist sociologists expand their personal skills to promote their own sociological research. After further Council discussion and interim reports from the task force, the name of the task force was changed to the Task Force on Engaging Sociology.

The Task Force members and its subcommittees are listed below.

Task Force Executive Committee

Co-Chairs: Annette Lareau and Matt Wray
Besheer Mohammed
Leslie McCall
Doug Hartmann
Amy Wharton
Tina Fetner
Jessie Daniels

Standards for Evaluating Public Sociology

Chair: Leslie McCall
Arne Kalleberg
Alondra Nelson
Matt Wray
Sarah Ovink
Laurel Smith-Doeer
Gabriel Hetland
Amy Schalet

Promoting Research through Social Media (PRSM)

Co-Chairs: Annette Lareau and Matt Wray
Katherine Chen
Mike Hout
Joanna Kempner
Shamus Khan
Ruth Milkman
Allison Pugh
Andrea Press

Website Redesign

Chair: Besheer Mohamed
Philip Cohen
Amy Best
Greg Squires
Jeff Johnson
Lucia Lykke
Matt Wray
Redante Asuncion-Reed
Mike Murphy
Johanna Olexy

Social Media Toolkits

Co-Chairs: Jessie Daniels and Tina Fetner
Nathan Palmer
Tressie Cottom
Andrea Tapia
Letta Wren Page
Dustin Kidd

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership