American Sociological Association

2017 Program Committee

ASA Bylaws provide directions on the composition of each Program Committee:

“Each Program Committee shall be selected by the President-Elect two years before the Annual Meeting for which the Committee is responsible and will be reviewed by the Council. The Council shall have the right to suggest modification or to augment the Committee if it deems appropriate. The Program Committee shall consider requests from temporary and informal groups of Association members for opportunities to meet and discuss topics of special interest to them. Three sessions at each Annual Meeting, including the session devoted to the Presidential Address, may at the option of the President-Elect, be under the exclusive control of the President-Elect.”


“The Program Committee shall consist of nine to eleven persons: The President-Elect, serving as Chair, the Vice-President-Elect, the Secretary, and six to eight other members of the Association selected as follows: Each year, the Council will appoint four to six members from a list presented by the President-Elect. Two of these members shall be appointed for two-year terms and others for one-year terms.”

Name Begin End Position
Michèle Lamont 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 ASA President
Kathleen Gerson 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 ASA Vice President
David T. Takeuchi 9/1/2016 8/31/2017 ASA Secretary
Sada Aksartova 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
David B. Grusky 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
David J. Harding 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Ann J. Morning 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Kristen Schilt 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Graziella Moraes D. Silva 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Yasemin Soysal 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Anna Sun 9/1/2015 8/31/2017 Member
Nancy Kidd 9/12/2016 8/31/2017 Executive Officer

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership